side-area-logo
Groupe 76

A turning point for the Bâtard range…  
These daring and remarkably well-balanced blends have been created with a single objective in mind: to appeal to wine novices, experienced drinkers and members of the wine trade.

Plo-Grand-Batard_cabernet-chenin

Plô Grand Bâtard

Cabernet sauvignon – Chenin blanc

> Fiche technique

Plo-Grand-Batard_syrah-chenin

Plô Grand Bâtard

Syrah – Chenin blanc

> Fiche technique

Plo-Grand-Batard_cahrdonnay-chenin

Plô Grand Bâtard

Chardonnay – Chenin blanc

> Fiche technique

Petit-Batard_carignan

Petit Bâtard

Carignan – Marsanne

> Fiche technique

Petit-Batard_carignan-grenache

Petit Bâtard

Carignan B – Grenache G

> Fiche technique

Autumn Morning During a wine tasting different barrels of the 2012 vintage, the “Maitre” of PLO, Julien Gil et Pierre Caizergues, guided only by the pleasures of the senses, came up with a blend of two grape varieties that had never before been mixed. Just like a composer of perfumes, he created his wine with his mind, soul and heart. However, his craftsmanship was not enough. It needs courage to blend a red grape, Cabernet-Sauvignon, with a white one, Chenin Blanc, thus giving birth to a new genre of wine. Grown on the fields of the Limoux area, this wine is not entitled to the AOP label as the blend of red and white grapes is not permitted, it is illegal. In France only a very small number of wines are allowed to hold this blend.
Now let’s turn back to the basics

Plô Grand Bâtard

In the Occitan language Plô means ‘small plateau’. The Grand Bâtard plot lies in the heart of the vineyard Plô Roucarels. Nestled in the hills of the Haute Vallée de l’Aude, in the sunny fields between Limoux and Carcassonne, the ‘terroir’ of Plô never ceases to surprise. In the distance one can see the Pyrenees, almost surreal, a magic picture that makes us dream…. The geographical position of the vineyard benefits from the influence of the Atlantic, which moderates the mediterranean climate of the region. Here, the cool nights and the heat waves in summer, cause climatical conditions that are favourable for a good maturity of the grapes. At the height of 350 meters various grape varieties are cultivated: Cabernet-Sauvignon and Syrah for the red and Chardonnay and Chenin for the white wines. The vineyards, planted on calcareous and stony soil, are traditionally cultivated with respect for ‘terroir’ and nature. This way we keep the uniqueness and authenticity of our grapes to ‘bring up’ and vinify our great wines.

Le Petit Bâtard

Tucked away in the Mediterranean hills, these Carignan Blanc and Carignan Noir vines are planted on the last foothills of the Montagne Noire. Pierre has chosen to work with Baptiste Serris, a young and talented winegrower from the Minervois region, to revive the region’s iconic varietals in his own unique way. These plots of vines were planted by René Serrie, Baptiste’s grandfather, in 1961, at a time when Carignan was not just Noir but Blanc as well. It was a natural decision to preserve this white varietal in light of all its potential just waiting to be revealed. Thanks to these small production wines, Pierre is extending the Bâtard range with the addition of the Petit Bâtard red, a blend of Carignan Noir and Marsanne, as well as the Petit Bâtard white, a blend of Carignan Blanc and Grenache Gris. Once again, the emphasis is firmly placed on the natural qualities and aromas of these delectable wines. The proof, as they say, is in the juices!

side-area-logo
Groupe 76

A la croisée des Chenins ou l’éloge de la grande bâtardise… 
Des assemblages audacieux, l’équilibre comme obsession et un objectif précis : élaborer des cuvées d’une grande finesse qui séduiront les nouveaux disciples de Bacchus, les amateurs éclairés comme les professionnels de la dive bouteille.

Plo-Grand-Batard_cabernet-chenin

Plô Grand Bâtard

Cabernet sauvignon – Chenin blanc

> Fiche technique

Plo-Grand-Batard_syrah-chenin

Plô Grand Bâtard

Syrah – Chenin blanc

> Fiche technique

Plo-Grand-Batard_cahrdonnay-chenin

Plô Grand Bâtard

Chardonnay – Chenin blanc

> Fiche technique

Petit-Batard_carignan

Petit Bâtard

Carignan – Marsanne

> Fiche technique

Petit-Batard_carignan-grenache

Petit Bâtard

Carignan B – Grenache G

> Fiche technique

Un matin d’automne, lors d’une dégustation des différentes barriques du millésime 2012, le Maître du Plô, Julien Gil et Pierre Caizergues, guidés uniquement par des plaisirs sensoriels, ont fait se rencontrer deux cépages encore jamais assemblés. Comme des compositeurs de parfums, ils structurent leur vin par des notes de tête, de cœur et de fond. Mais ce savoir-faire ne suffit pas, il faut aussi de l’audace pour marier un raisin rouge, le Cabernet-Sauvignon, à un raisin blanc, le Chenin et ainsi donner naissance à un nouveau genre. Issu de vignes plantées sur l’appellation d’origine protégée LIMOUX, ce vin ne peut prétendre au label AOP, car un tel croisement rouge-blanc est non conforme, illégitime. Bienvenue en France, en vin de France.

Plô Grand Bâtard

En Occitan, PLÔ signifie « petit plateau ». Celui du Grand Bâtard s’étend sur quelques ares de vignes au sein du vignoble Plô Roucarels. Niché dans les collines de la Haute Vallée de l’Aude, sous le soleil du Sud de la France entre Limoux et Carcassonne, le terroir du PLÔ surprend. Au loin la chaîne des Pyrénées, presque irréelle, dresse le tableau d’un lieu magique, qui nous laisse rêveur… Le vignoble, de par sa position géographique, bénéficie d’une influence océanique qui tempère le climat méditerranéen de la région. Ici, les nuits fraîches et les étés caniculaires provoquent des amplitudes thermiques propices à une bonne maturité des raisins. A 350 mètres d’altitude, on aime cultiver un panel de cépages : le Cabernet-Sauvignon et la Syrah pour les rouges; le Chardonnay et le Chenin pour les blancs. Les vignes, plantées sur des sols argilo-calcaires et des grès, sont travaillées traditionnellement dans le plus grand respect du terroir et de la nature. Nous préservons ainsi la typicité et l’authenticité de nos cépages pour vinifier et élever de grands vins.

Le Petit Bâtard

En plein cœur de l’arrière pays méditerranéen, sur les derniers contreforts de la montagne Noire, se trouvent de vielles vignes de Carignan Blanc et de Carignan Noir. C’est avec Baptiste Serris, jeune et talentueux vigneron du Minervois, que Pierre a choisi de faire renaître, à sa manière, les cépages emblématiques de la région. C’est le grand père de Baptiste, René Serris, qui a planté ces parcelles en 1961, à une époque ou le Carignan était Noir mais aussi Blanc ! La sauvegarde de ce dernier semble être une évidence tant ce cépage a de secrets à révéler. Avec ces cuvées confidentielles, Pierre agrandit la famille des Bâtards et donne naissance au Petit Bâtard rouge, assemblage de Carignan Noir et de Marsanne et au Petit Bâtard Blanc, assemblage de Carignan Blanc et de Grenache Gris. Une fois de plus, toute l’attention est portée sur les qualités intrinsèques et gustatives du nectar, pourvu que les jus soient bons !